Z for ZachariahZ for Zachariah by Robert C. O’Brien
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I was doing some lazy trawling through Goodreads and this book pops up. Well such a blast from the past!!! I came across this book when I was about 10 in my school library (which was in a developing country so we were always short of good books). I read it and it has stayed with me…..the power of the story, the fear, the danger, the tension and suspense! It all centres around a young girl who has survived a nuclear holocaust and is on her own…until one day a man arrives….

If I reread it now am sure it might not have the same zizazu as it once did, given many books have followed since then. However I think this book was an important one. It shaped my taste and thirst for the books I love. Ones where you lose yourself to the story and are taken to another (often terrifying) reality, you are kept in suspense and on the edge of your seat…..and most importantly, you are haunted by the story over 25 years later!